Di Resta could be forced out of F1

Paul di Resta has admitted that he could find himself without a drive in 2014, with Force India still yet to confirm his position at Force India for next season.

Motor Racing - Formula One World Championship - United States Grand Prix - Race Day - Austin, USA

Di Resta, who is coming to the end of his third season with the Silverstone-based outfit, has confessed that his future in Formula One could be in danger, with both Nico Hulkenberg and McLaren refugee Sergio Perez linked with moves to Force India for 2014.

Despite the uncertainty over his future, the Scot remains adamant that he has done all that he can to convince Force India to keep him on for a fourth season.

“They [Force India] know what I’m capable of here, they know what I can deliver. I feel like I’m an asset to the team,” explained the27-year old.

“But I can’t make the decision for them, and I have to respect their decision.

“I’ve said all along I’d love to be part of it. I’ve expressed that to the senior management, bosses and the shareholders.

“Obviously, things are getting tighter in the midfield to get seats, so I have to be content with what I’ve done, and I believe over the last four races I’ve done what’s been asked of me.

“I don’t know what will happen. I’ve got to wait and see. We can only work in the background in trying to secure my Formula 1 future.

“We’re speaking, and that’s all you can do. All is not confirmed yet.”

Di Resta, who secured the 2010 DTM Championship with Mercedes, has refused to rule-out a move back to the series if a Formula One drive for 2014 fails to materialise.

“I’ve got interest, but my primary objective is to stay in Formula 1, and that’s what I’m concentrating on,” he said.

“I built a good reputation in DTM, and there are other opportunities in a few other series. But I’ll continue to live this dream I am in because I believe this is where I should be at the moment. I’ve put in the performances for that.”

Di Resta, whose cousin is Dario Franchitti, a four times IndyCar  champion and three times Indy 500 winner, admitted that a move to the United States would not be out of the question in the future, considering Franchitti’s success, but he was insistent that his focus remains very much on Formula One and securing a drive for 2014.

“I’ve never really thought about it, to be fair,” said the Scot. “I’ve always been slightly concerned about the safety of it, but sitting down and looking at it logically, it’s a serious option to look elsewhere because of the success he has had.

“I’m not at that point yet, I’ve still a race to go and I’m doing as much as I can in this paddock to make sure I remain here.”

Image courtesy of Force India F1 Team

Leave a Reply

