Sutil coy over Force India future for 2014

Adrian Sutil’s future in Formula One has seemingly been secured, with the German revealing that he has signed a deal for a drive for 2014.

Motor Racing - Formula One World Championship - United States Grand Prix - Practice Day - Austin, USA

Sutil, who returned to Force India this season after a one year absence from the sport, refused to confirm which team he will be driving for next season, but is adamant that a deal is in place for him to compete in Formula One next season.

“Yes I know where I will be,” said the German. “There is a signature somewhere – but it is a team policy that I don’t talk about it.

“But I am quite happy. It was always my decision where I signed or didn’t sign – and that is why I feel good.”

Sutil, who was careful to protect the identity of his team for 2014, admitted that he had looked around at a number of other offers, but stated that his decision had been a simple one.

“I always look of course,” said the 30-year-old. “It depends on the situation, sometimes you have contracts and it doesn’t mean a lot.

“There is so much going on at the moment as well, so I looked at it from the outside. But for me it is maybe a different situation to other drivers. Life goes on and I am a happy man.”

Sutil added his praises to Mercedes, who will supply the Force India team with engines for a sixth consecutive year, with the German marque believed to have taken an early lead in the engine development race.

“I believe in German technology and English engineering. It works quite well together.

“But we have no proof that the engine will be the best. This is just from experience that Mercedes are able to build very strong engines.

“But Ferrari is also a very good manufacturer. Renault has a lot of history in this turbo charger engine, so they could be also very strong.”

Image courtesy of Force India F1 Team

Leave a comment