Juncadella set to complete British GP practice for Force India

Motor Racing - Formula One World Championship - Formula One Testing - Day 2 - Barcelona, Spain

Dani Juncadella will run for Force India during opening practice ahead of the British Grand Prix.

The Spaniard, who has raced in the DTM series since 2013, joined Force India as the team’s reserve driver earlier this season, after a year spent in a similar role with Williams.

Juncadella’s run on Friday at Silverstone will be his first during a grand prix race weekend, having tested at the same circuit last year for Williams during the young driver test.

“I am delighted and ready and I’d like to thank Sahara Force India for this opportunity,” said the 23-year-old. “This will be the first time I take part in an official grand prix weekend session, so it will be a very special day for me.

“I’ve been waiting for this moment for a very long time and it goes to show that hard work and determination can get you there!”

Juncadella had his most recent taste of F1 machinery at the post-Spanish Grand Prix test with Force India, when he completed 91 laps of the Circuit de Catalunya circuit at the wheel of the team’s 2014 car – the VJM07.

“Since the start of the year back in Jerez, where I got my first chance to drive the car, I’ve been working very hard together with the team and I’ve definitely learned a lot,” he added.

“My second outing at the test in Barcelona and all the hours we’ve spent together on the simulator have given me plenty of confidence. They were also the perfect way to get to know the team better, something which I think is always essential in order to do well.

“This is also the team’s local race, which makes a day I will never forget even more special.”

Image courtesy of Force India F1 Team

Leave a Reply

