Rosberg storms to German GP pole as Hamilton crashes out


Nico Rosberg took a dominant pole position for the German Grand Prix after his team-mate Lewis Hamilton crashed out with a brake failure.

Rosberg, who signed a contract extension with Mercedes earlier this week, stormed to his fifth pole of the season and his first on home soil in Formula 1 with a lap of 1:16.540. The German will be joined on the front row of the grid by Valtteri Bottas, while Felipe Massa made it both Williams cars in the top three.

There was drama in the opening part of the session as Hamilton crashed his Mercedes heavily at the Sachskurve after a confirmed right-front brake failure pitched him into the barriers at high speed, meaning he will start Sunday’s German Grand Prix  just 15th.

Kevin Magnussen was fourth fastest for McLaren, while Daniel Ricciardo once again outqualified his Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel in fifth, three tenths up on the four-time champion.

Fernando Alonso, who has won the last two grands prix held at the Hockenheimring, was seventh for Ferrari, ahead of Russian rookie Daniil Kvyat in the first of the Toro Rosso cars.

Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez rounded out the top ten for Force India.

Jenson Button and Kimi Raikkonen both failed to progress into the final part of qualifying, the pair four tenths down on their team-mates respectively, 11th and 12th fastest respectively.

Jean-Eric Vergne was 13th in the second Toro Rosso, ahead of Esteban Gutierrez – who will take a three-place grid penalty – and his fellow Frenchman Romain Grosjean.

Adrian Sutil was 17th for Sauber, one spot ahead of Jules Bianchi in the Marussia, as Pastor Maldonado failed to progress from the opening part of qualifying for the eighth time this season, mired down in 19th in the Lotus.

Kamui Kobayashi was 20th, a tenth ahead of Max Chilton in the second Marussia, while Marcus Ericsson failed to set a time in the sister Caterham car following a hydraulic leak.

Qualifying – Provisional Classification

1. Nico Rosberg – Mercedes – 1:16.540

2. Valtteri Bottas – Williams-Mercedes  – 1:16.759  +0.219

3. Felipe Massa – Williams-Mercedes – 1:17.078  +0.538

4. Kevin Magnussen – McLaren-Mercedes – 1:17.214  +0.674

5. Daniel Ricciardo – Red Bull-Renault – 1:17.273  +0.733

6. Sebastian Vettel – Red Bull-Renault – 1:17.577  +1.037

7. Fernando Alonso – Ferrari – 1:17.649  +1.109

8. Daniil Kvyat – Toro Rosso-Renault – 1:17.965  +1.425

9. Nico Hulkenberg – Force India-Mercedes – 1:18.014  +1.474

10. Sergio Perez – Force India-Mercedes – 1:18.035  +1.495

11. Jenson Button – McLaren-Mercedes – 1:18.193  +1.084

12. Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari – 1:18.273  +1.164

13. Jean-Eric Vergne – Toro Rosso-Renault – 1:18.285  +1.176

14. Esteban Gutierrez – Sauber-Ferrari – 1:18.787  +1.678

15. Romain Grosjean – Lotus-Renault – 1:18.983  +1.874

16. Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes – No time set

17. Adrian Sutil – Sauber-Ferrari – 1:19.142  +1.511

18. Jules Bianchi – Marussia-Ferrari – 1:19.676  +2.045

19. Pastor Maldonado – Lotus-Renault – 1:20.195  +2.564

20. Kamui Kobayashi – Caterham-Renault – 1:20.408  +2.777

21. Max Chilton – Marussia-Ferrari – 1:20.489  +2.858

22. Marcus Ericsson – Caterham-Renault – No time set

Image courtesy of Mercedes AMG PETRONAS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s