Spain and Austria to host 2015 in-season F1 testing


Spain and Austria will host the two in-season Formula 1 tests in 2015.

Testing will take place at Barcelona following the Spanish Grand Prix on May 12-13, while a second test will follow at the Red Bull Ring after the Austrian Grand Prix on June 23-24.

In-season testing returned during the 2014 season, with four tests held after the Bahrain, Spanish, British, and Abu Dhabi Grands Prix.

However, teams found that the increased mileage from the post-race tests did not justify the cost, agreeing to slash the schedule for 2015.

The FIA has confirmed that will be just two tests of two days during the 2015 season, while teams must run their young drivers on two of those four days.

Pre-season testing, which has been cut from four tests to three for 2015, will begin in Jerez on February 1.

In-season Testing Schedule

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya: 12-13 May 2015

Red Bull Ring: 23-24 June 2015

Image courtesy of Lotus F1 Team


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s