Streiff apologises to FIA over Bianchi comments

racepictures_1412508711.07

Former Formula 1 racer Philippe Streiff has apologised to the FIA over comments he made following Jules Bianchi’s Japanese Grand Prix accident.

FIA president Jean Todt and medical chief Gerard Saillant announced their intention to open legal action against Streiff earlier this week, for comments he made about the governing body’s investigation into Bianchi’s Suzuka crash.

Streiff, who was confined to a wheelchair after a Formula 1 testing accident in 1989, suggested via French media that the FIA’s investigation panel had been set up to absolve it of any blame arising from Bianchi’s accident.

However, Streiff has since issued an apology, just 24 hours after the FIA’s threat of legal action.

“I let myself get carried away in front of the camera,” Streiff said in a statement issued by the FIA.

“The interview took a long time – too long – and I am aware that I made insulting and defamatory comments about Jean Todt, Gerard Saillant and the FIA, which I sincerely regret.

“I refute and take back these accusations, which are unfounded, and ask the press to remove them from their media.

“Lastly, I ask Jean Todt and Gerard Saillant, who are well aware of my health problems, to excuse me.

“I regret having said things about them that are totally out of line with the consideration that they both deserve.”

This article first appeared on Richland F1 – Image courtesy of Marussia F1 Team

Leave a Reply

