Nasr fastest for Sauber on penultimate day at Jerez


Felipe Nasr set the pace for Sauber on the penultimate day of the first pre-season test at the Jerez circuit.

Nasr set a lap of 1:21.545 on a soft tyre run as the track improved in the afternoon  to top the leaderboard for Sauber, after an early spin at Turn 9 in the morning.

Kimi Raikkonen was fastest in the morning at the wheel of the Ferrari SF15-T, but missed out on the top spot on the day by two tenths of a second to Nasr.

Mercedes dominated in terms of mileage for a third day at Jerez, as Nico Rosberg added 151 laps to the 157 he completed on the opening day, and the 91 of team-mate Lewis Hamilton on Monday, despite stopping on track with an engine problem just before lunchtime.

Felipe Massa was fourth on his first day in the Williams FW37, ahead of Pastor Maldonado, who recovered from a telemetry issue in the morning to finish fifth fastest for Lotus.

The Venezuelan managed to complete 96 laps in the E23 but brought a premature end to the day’s running with a late stoppage on track in the dying minute’s of the session.

Toro Rosso rookie Carlos Sainz enjoyed a productive day at the wheel of the STR10 as he completed 137 laps on his way to sixth, ahead of Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo.

The Australian completed just five laps before lunch after a problem forced an engine change, but rallied to end the day with 48 laps under his belt.

McLaren had its most encouraging morning of testing so far, as Fernando Alonso completed 32 laps at the wheel of the Honda-powered MP4-30 before Alonso identified a problem just after lunchtime, which required the team to remove the power unit, ending its running for the day.

Alonso propped up the timesheets in seventh, well shy of the other runners after setting his only timed laps on a damp track in the morning.

Jerez – Day three – Final times

1. Felipe Nasr – Sauber – 1:21.545 – 108 Laps

2. Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari – 1:21.750 – 92 Laps

3. Nico Rosberg – Mercedes – 1:21.982 – 151 Laps

4. Felipe Massa – Williams – 1:22.276 – 71 Laps

5. Pastor Maldonado – Lotus – 1:22.713 – 96 Laps

6. Carlos Sainz – Toro Rosso – 1:23.187 – 136 Laps

7. Daniel Ricciardo – Red Bull – 1:23.901 – 48 Laps

8. Fernando Alonso – McLaren – 1:35.553 – 32 Laps

This article first appeared on Richland F1 – Image courtesy of Sauber Motorsport AG


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s