Hamilton, Ricciardo and Mercedes up for Laureus Awards


Lewis Hamilton, Daniel Ricciardo and Mercedes have all been nominated for the coveted Laureus Awards.

Reigning world champion Hamilton has been nominated for the world sportsman of the year award, while three-time race winner Ricciardo is nominated in the world breakthrough of the year category.

Mercedes, which romped to 16 wins on its way to the constructors’ championship in 2014, has been nominated for the world team of the year award.

The team will go up against the FIFA World Cup winning German national football team as well as 2014 Uefa Champions League winners Real Madrid.

Brawn Grand Prix was the last Formula 1 team to win the award after its fairytale championship winning season in 2009.

Ricciardo will face competition from footballers Mario Gotze, who scored the winning goal for Germany in Brazil, and Real Madrid’s James Rodriguez, who starred for Columbia at last year’s World Cup, scoring the goal of the tournament.

Hamilton will face off against Tennis world number one Novak Djokovic, Ballon d’Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo, MotoGP champion Marc Marquez and Rory McIlroy – whom he beat to the British Sports Personality of the Year award in 2014 – in the sportsman of the year category.

The Laureus Awards take place on April 15 in Shanghai.

Image courtesy of Mercedes AMG PETRONAS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s