Magnussen: Racing in Australia would be ‘difficult’

_89P8749

Kevin Magnussen says it would be a challenge to fully prepare in time to race at the Australian Grand Prix, should he need to substitute for Fernando Alonso.

Alonso crashed on the final day of the second winter test in Barcelona and spent three nights in hospital.

Magnussen, who lost his McLaren race drive at the end of last year, substituted for the still recovering Spaniard at the final test, driving on the third day of running.

The 22-year-old was impressed with his first impressions of the new Honda-powered car, but says it would be difficult to jump in and race it in Australia at such late notice.

“It’d be difficult, as I’ve not had my own team of engineers or mechanics to talk to all winter,” Magnussen said. “I’ve kind of been on the sidelines a little bit.

“I’ve followed what has been going on and kept up to date with it but it is different when you have your own team and you can work with them.

“If I have to then I’ll be happy to do it.”

The Dane, who considered racing at Le Mans alongside his father, Jan, this year, conceded that it had been a tough winter since losing his F1 drive.

“It’s been very frustrating,” he added. “I desperately wanted to race this year and it has been tough immediately after learning that I didn’t have the drive.

“It was very sad times, I was looking forward to having another year. I was looking forward to continuing the progress and I felt like I had a lot more to learn. I’ve been massively disappointed but I understand the situation.

The late nature of McLaren’s decision to keep Button meant Magnussen was left with limited options in terms of a race seat for 2015.

“I got the call quite late that I would not be racing in Formula 1, so a lot of the doors were closed already,” he explained.

“The options are very limited, but I’m also not completely sure if racing something else is the best thing to do when you want to get back to F1.

“The best thing would be to drive races and keep sharp like that, but Formula 1 is tricky nowadays. There isn’t a test team anymore. It’s a tricky one.”

This article first appeared on Richland F1 – Image courtesy of McLaren

Leave a Reply

