Alonso not regretting Ferrari exit yet, will end career with McLaren

Fernando Alonso in the garage.

Fernando Alonso admits only Ferrari winning a world championship would prompt him to question his decision to leave the team for McLaren.

Alonso quit Ferrari after five years to return to McLaren – the team he left after a single season in 2007 – for this season.

Sebastian Vettel replaced Alonso at the Maranello-based squad, and secured his maiden victory for Ferrari on only his second start in Malaysia, ending the team’s two year winless drought.

Despite Vettel’s surprise win, Alonso says he does not regret his decision to leave, but admits that would change were Ferrari to win the world title.

“I spent five years at Ferrari and finished second three times and I didn’t want to finish second a fourth time,” Alonso told reporters in China on Thursday.

“If they win the championship at the end of the year then maybe I will have a different opinion, but if they finish second or third I think I am happy with the decision.

“There have been years when we have started very good with Ferrari – winning here [in China] in 2013 for example – but when it counts in November we have never won [the championship]. I want to win in November and we will see.”

Alonso, racing in his 15th year in Formula 1, says that he plans to end his career with McLaren-Honda.

“I don’t think so,” he said when asked if he would consider a managerial team role. “After 15 or 16 or 17 years of Formula 1 – whatever it will be – it’s enough.

“It’s probably the same example of the Ferrari time – I will close the loop, that part of my life.

“I started with McLaren-Honda when I was three years old – a replica of my father; I will finish with McLaren-Honda, but the real one in Formula 1, and that will be one third of my life.

“[It will end] with great experiences, great memories, great friendships, but the normal life will start that day when I retire, and I do not see myself as a manager here or following the sport. That will be enough.”

This article first appeared on Richland F1 – Image courtesy of McLaren

Leave a Reply

