Hamilton compromised my race – Rosberg

F12015GP03CHN-HZ10053

Nico Rosberg believes his team-mate Lewis Hamilton deliberately compromised his race during the Chinese Grand Prix.

Rosberg came home second behind race winner Hamilton in Shanghai, but is adamant that his team-mate drove slower during the second stint to back him into Sebastian Vettel, who was running third for Ferrari.

“It’s interesting to hear from you Lewis that you were just thinking about yourself with the pace at the front,” he said during the post-race FIA press conference.

“Unnecessarily, that was compromising my race, because driving slower than was maybe necessary at the beginning of stints meant Sebastian was very close to me.

“That opened up the opportunity for Sebastian to try that early pitstop to try and jump me, and then I had to cover him.

“First of all it was unnecessarily close with Sebastian and also it cost me a lot of race time as a result, as I had to cover him, and my tyres died at the end of the race because my stint was so much longer. So I’m unhappy about that.”

This article first appeared in Richland F1 – Image courtesy of Daimler

Leave a Reply

