Verstappen: China performance a sign of growing confidence

F1 Grand Prix of China

Max Verstappen says his feisty drive during last weekend’s Chinese Grand Prix is a sign of his growing confidence.

The 17-year-old impressed with a series of strong overtakes in Shanghai as he moved from 13th on the grid to run as high as eighth before a late retirement.

“Well, first of all, I was really enjoying my race,” he said on Thursday. “We didn’t have a great qualifying, but still I was very confident that we could do a good race because I think the car and it’s race pace is really strong, especially high speed.

“I had some good overtakes, I was really enjoying that. It’s also every race I’m getting more and more confident in the car.

“Especially in the first two race you don’t want to take too many risks and I decided in China it was time to do some overtakes and take some more risk.”

Verstappen says he is hopeful of making up for his lost points from China with a strong result in Bahrain this weekend.

“Yeah, for sure it’s very short notice for us after China, where we had the engine issues,” he added.

“But we will try to do our best to deliver a good race and try to score points, because I think at the moment the car is capable of it and I’m feeling much better every race in the car. So I’m really looking forward to this race.”

This article first appeared on Richland F1 – Image courtesy of Scuderia Toro Rosso

Leave a Reply

