Rosberg disappointed to surrender second to Raikkonen late on

F1 - BAHRAIN GRAND PRIX 2015

Nico Rosberg says he was disappointed to lose second place to Kimi Raikkonen on the penultimate lap of the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Rosberg dropped to fourth off the start, but cleared both Ferraris in the opening stages of the race, only to drop behind Sebastian Vettel after his opening stop.

The Ferrari racer successfully used the undercut to jump Rosberg a second time at the second round of pitstops, but slid wide at the final corner, dropping behind his rival and damaging his front-wing.

Raikkonen ran an alternate strategy in the second Ferrari and caught Rosberg – who was struggling with a braking issue – in the closing stages, snatching second as the German ran straight on at Turn 1.

“It was okay, the overtaking was enjoyable,” Rosberg said. “To overtake the red cars, I like that a lot.

“In the end, I tried to catch Lewis but we were pretty similar, he pulled away a bit at the end. Then I lost my brakes unfortunately two laps from the end. I went straight on so I lost the position to Kimi which is very disappointing.

“I’m happy about our car. The team has done a great job again, I’m very thankful for that. I really look forward to the races that are still to come”

Image courtesy of Daimler

Leave a Reply

