Bottas denies rumours of potential Ferrari deal

_89P3314

Valtteri Bottas has dismissed reports linking him with a pre-contract with Ferrari.

Rumours in recent weeks have suggested the Finn has signed a preliminary deal with the Maranello-based squad, but Bottas has rejected those reports.

“I’ve heard plenty of stories and it is sometimes quite funny sometimes to hear those, because at in the end you know what the case is and what is not,” he told reporters in Barcelona.

“There are a lot of people making up stuff and at the moment I am focusing on getting the maximum for us [Williams] as a team. The rest, I don’t know yet.

“I am not really thinking about those [rumours]. It is for my management to think [about] and like I said, I am personally just focusing on this moment and this season as I think this is the best thing for me to do for the future as well.”

Bottas is out of contract with Williams at the end of the year, and insists he is yet to sign any deal for the coming season.

“I don’t have anything for next year,” he explained. “My management is doing all that and maybe there’s some things they didn’t tell me so maybe you should ask them.

“As I say, at the moment I’m not thinking about any move, just about getting the best out of this season.

“Those things are for my management to think about. I’m sure they have some sort of plan for my career, the years ahead.

“Of course, it’s nice to know sooner rather than later what I am doing, but for the moment it’s a bit too early.”

Image courtesy of Williams F1 Team

Leave a Reply

