Rosberg ends Hamilton’s qualifying streak with Spanish GP pole


Nico Rosberg beat Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton to record his maiden pole position of the year in qualifying for the Spanish GP.

Rosberg jumped to the top of the timesheets with a 1:24.681 on his opening run in the final shootout, and held on for pole when Hamilton failed to improve on his final flier.

Sebastian Vettel was the best of the rest in third for Ferrari, some eight tenths shy of Rosberg’s pole time, while Valtteri Bottas was fourth for Williams.

Toro Rosso looked out the third row of the grid, with Carlos Sainz Jr. and Max Verstappen fifth and sixth fastest.

Kimi Raikkonen was just seventh in the second Ferrari after a difficult session, while Felipe Massa split the two Red Bulls of Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo in ninth.

Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado were 11th and 12th respectively for Lotus, as the pair both narrowly missed out on a place in the final top-ten shootout.

Fernando Alonso was 13th, ahead of McLaren team-mate Jenson Button, while Felipe Nasr was 15th for Ferrari-powered Sauber.

Team-mate Marcus Ericsson was an early casualty of the opening phase of qualifying in 16th.

Nico Hulkenberg was the best of the Force Indias in a lowly 16th, a tenth clear of Sergio Perez in the sister VJM08.

The Manor Marussia team propped up the standings, with Will Stevens once again ahead of team-mate Roberto Merhi.

Image courtesy of Daimler


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s