Vettel confident Ferrari can race Mercedes

C226916

Sebastian Vettel says he is confident Ferrari can challenge Mercedes in the Bahrain Grand Prix after qualifying second for Sunday’s race.

Vettel looked poised to take his first pole for Ferrari, only for Hamilton to snatch the top spot in the dying stages of the final shootout, as he went four tenths clear with his final flying lap.

Despite missing out on pole, Vettel believes Ferrari can trouble Mercedes during the race.

“We’re very happy with second today,” he said. “I think it was a tough session.

“At the beginning I didn’t really find the rhythm that I seemed to have in practice, but towards the end more and more it was getting better. I was feeling happier in the car, and I felt more comfortable to push.

“For now, I’m very happy with the front row. Hopefully tomorrow I can have a good start and a good race from there. I think in the race we are maybe a bit closer, so we’ll see what happens.”

This article first appeared on Richland F1 – Image courtesy of Scuderia Ferrari

Leave a comment